What is ITIL?

 Nov 20, 2015

ITIL® Stands for Information Technology Infrastructure Library® (ITIL®). It considered to be the most widely used framework for managing IT service management worldwide.

The ITIL® best practice framework has been obtained from public and private sectors of business internationally. The framework illustrates the use of IT resources to deliver value to business, by the documentation of processes, functions and roles in IT Service Management (ITSM).

To support this best practice, there are a series of courses and exams for those interested in pursuing the path of ITSM. Originally ITIL® was developed to align it with BS15000 (the original British Standard for IT service Management). Around about 2005 the BS15000 became ISO/IEC 20000 to become the first international standard in ITSM.

ITIL® is currently owned by AXELOS an organisation which maintains and develops future versions of ITIL.

How did ITIL® develop?

Around the 1980s the UK government figured the quality of IT Service provide to them was not good enough, thus the Central Computer and Telecommunications Agency was asked to develop a framework for efficient and financially sensible use of IT resources.The very earliest version of ITIL® was known as GITIM, Government Information Technology Infrastructure Management.

In the early 1990s companies, organisations and government agencies across Europe started to adopt this framework. It has now found its use all over the world and arrived in Australia around 1994/5. Thus it has grown very popular around the globe, and as IT is changing so too is ITIL®. The current version of ITIL® is Version 3 which was updated in 2011.

Why is ITIL® so successful

There are 3 key reasons why it so successful:

  • It is Vendor Neutral: i.e. it does not apply to any particular operating system or company thus will work in any IT organisation.
  • It is Non-Prescriptive: i.e. the time-tested practices are robust and mature and will fit into most organisations.
  • It is Best Practice: i.e. a representation of the learning and experiences the words best service providers.

What are the ITIL® service lifecycles?

There are 5 service Lifecycles:-

  • Service Strategy – How to serve our customer base in the most strategic manner possible.
  • Service Design – What are our service requirements and how can we offer new services. Also can any existing services be improved?
  • Service Transitions – This is where we build test and deploy our service in a co-ordinated manner.
  • Service Operations – Here we make sure out IT services are being delivered efficiently, i.e. “where the rubber hits road” in the form of a service desk.
  • Continual Service Improvement – How can we improve the processes?

For more information, take a look at our ITIL® training courses.

How do your Excel skills stack up?   

Test Now  

About the Author:

Steve Wiggins  

Steve is a highly experienced technical trainer with over 10 years of specialisation in Software Application Development, Project Management, VBA Solutions and Desktop Applications training. His practical experience in .NET programming, advanced solution development and project management enables him to train clients at all levels of seniority and experience. Steve also currently manages the IT infrastructure for New Horizons of Brisbane, providing him with daily hands-on experience with SCCM, Windows Server 2012 and Windows 8.

Read full bio