Get Microsoft Certified

 Jun 08, 2017

You may already know that last year Microsoft streamlined its technical certification pathways. But what does this mean for you?

As well as launching a heap of new certifications and retiring some existing ones, Microsoft also made some big changes that affect how you earn certifications. Because of these changes, you may have already earned a new certification. So, have I got your attention?

To give you a bit of a summary, the following Microsoft certifications have been launched since 2016:

MCSE: Mobility

MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure

MCSE: Productivity

MCSE: Data Management and Analysis

MCSD: App Builder

MCSE: Business Applications

MCSA: Windows 10

MCSA: Server 2012

MCSA: Server 2016

MCSA: Linux on Azure

MCSA: Cloud Platform

MCSA: Office 365

MCSA: SQL Server 2012/2014

MCSA: SQL 2016 Database Development

MCSA: SQL 2016 BI Development

MCSA: Data Science

MCSA: Web Applications

MCSA: Universal Windows Platform

MCSA: Dynamics 365

MCSA: Dynamics 365 for Operations

As well as the launch of new certifications, Microsoft announced a fundamental change in how you earn them. While previously you were made to pass two or three exams, you now need to pass just one exam, which you can choose between 5-10 electives.

Another change is that you are no longer required to pass a recertification exam every two to three years to keep your certification, which means all recertification exams are retired. 

Although Microsoft has retired a number of MCSE and MCSD certifications, the Microsoft Official Curriculum (MOC) and exams aligned to these certifications still exist, they have just been redistributed as elective options for the new streamlined technical certification.

Below is a list of some retired certifications and their new corresponding certification.

Active Certification New Certification
MCSE: Server Infrastructure MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure
MCSE: Private Cloud MCSE: Cloud Platform and Infrastructure
MCSE: Data Platform MCSE: Data Management and Analysis
MCSE: Business Intelligence MCSE: Data Management and Analysis
MCSE: Enterprise Devices and Apps MCSE: Mobility
MCSE: SharePoint MCSE: Productivity
MCSE: Communication MCSE: Productivity
MCSE: Messaging MCSE: Productivity
MCSD: Universal Windows Platform MCSD: App Builder
MCSD: Web Applications MCSD: App Builder
MCSD: SharePoint Applications MCSD: App Builder


To find out if your existing certification automatically converted to one of the new streamlined technical certifications, contact one of our internal Microsoft Certified Specialists for a chat.

Over the coming months, I will be discussing some of the different certification pathways in more detail, and I’ll map out the easiest path for you to achieve each qualification.

Stay tuned and you will be well on your way to a new Microsoft technical certification in no time.

For more information on the certifications offered at New Horizons, click here or contact us for a chat. 

How do your Excel skills stack up?   

Test Now  

About the Author:

Gordon Cowser  

With over 22 years real world and training experience, Gordon is our most senior IT Infrastructure trainer. His expertise includes but is not limited to; Microsoft Server and Client OS, Messaging, Collaboration, Active Directory and Network Infrastructure. Gordon also specialises in SharePoint technologies training in both technical and end user aspects. With his extensive skill-set he brings a thorough mentoring capability to the classroom where he can advise on technical issues and challenges often beyond the scope of the course curriculum. A very approachable and experienced training professional, he has the ability to establish credibility fast with students at all levels.

Read full bio